List of Indian National Congress Sessions & Presidents (1885-1947)

List of Indian National Congress Sessions: The Indian National Congress (INC) was founded in 1885 and grew to become one of India’s most influential political organizations before to independence. The first session of the Indian National Congress took place in 1885. For the IAS Exam, knowing the dates of Indian National Congress sessions and their presidents is essential.

It began as an organization comprised mostly of India’s educated elite before evolving into a party of commoners with notable leaders such as Lajpat Rai, Bal Gangadar Tilak, Gandhi, Nehru, Bose, and others as members.

List of Indian National Congress Sessions

The Founding Years (1885-1900)

28-30 December 1885BombayWomesh Chandra Bonnerjee1st
27-30 December 1886CalcuttaDadabhai Naoroji2nd
27-30 December 1887MadrasBadruddin Tyyabji (fist Muslim President)3rd
26-29 December 1888AllahabadGeorge Yule (first English President)4th
26-28 December 1889BombaySir William Wedderburn5th
26-30 December 1890CalcuttaPherozeshah Mehta6th
28-30 December 1891NagpurP. Ananda Charlu7th
28-30 December 1892AllahabadWomesh Chandra Bonnerjee8th
27-30 December 1893LahoreDadabhai Naoroji9th
26-29 December 1894MadrasAlfred Webb10th
27-30 December 1895PuneSurendranath Banerjee11th
28-31 December 1896CalcuttaRahimatullah M. Sayani12th
27-29 December 1897AmraotiC. Sankaran Nair13th
29-31 December 1898MadrasAnanda Mohan Bose14th
27-29 December 1899LucknowRomesh Chunder Dutt15th
27-29 December 1900LahoreN.G. Chandavarkar

The Pre Independece Era (1900-1947)

26-28 December 1901CalcuttaDinshaw Eduljee Wacha17th
28-30 December 1902AhmedabadSurendranath Banerjee18th
28-30 December 1903MadrasLal Mohan Ghosh19th
26-28 December 1904BombaySir Henry Cotton20th
27-30 December 1905BanarasGopal Krishna Gokhale21st
26-29 December 1906CalcuttaDadabhai Naoroji22nd
26-27 December 1907SuratRash Behari Ghosh23rd (Session Suspended)
28-30 December 1908MadrasRash Behari Ghosh23rd
27-29 December 1909LahoreMadan Mohan Malviya24th
26-29 December 1910AllahabadSir William Wedderburn25th
26-28 December 1911CalcuttaBishan Narayan Dar26th
26-28 December 1912BankiporeRaghunath Narasinha Mudholkar27th
26-28 December 1913KarachiNawab Syed Mohammed Bahadur28th
14-15 April 1914MadrasBhupendra Nath Bose29th
27-29 December 1915BombaySatyendra Prasanna Sinha30th
26-30 December 1916LucknowAmbica Charan Mazumdar31st
26-29 December 1917CalcuttaAnnie Besant32nd
26-30 December 1918DelhiMadan Mohan Malviya33rd
29 August – 1 September 1918BombayRomesh Chunder DuttSpecial Session
26-30 December 1919AmritsarMotilal Nehru34th
26-30 December 1920NagpurC. Vijayaraghavachariar35th
27-28 December 1921AhmadabadHakim Ajmal Khan (Acting President for C.R. Das)36th
26-31 December 1922GayaDeshbandhu Chittaranjan Das37th
4-8 September 1923DelhiMaulana Abdul Kalam AzadSpecial session
26-27 December 1924BelgaumM.K. Gandhi39th
15-17 April 1925CawnporeMrs. Sarojini Naidu40th
26-28 December 1926GawahatiS. Srinivasa Iyengar41th
26-28 December 1927MadrasM. A. Ansari42nd
29 December 1928 – 1 January 1929CalcuttaMotilal Nehru43rd
16-18 April 1929LahorePt. Jawaharlal Nehru44th
21-31 March 1931KarachiVallabhbhai J. Patel45th
12-14 September 1933CalcuttaMrs. Nellie Sengupta47th
24-28 October 1934BombayDr. Rajendra Prasad48th
18-20 June 1936LucknowPt. Jawaharlal Nehru49th
12-14 July 1937FaizpurPt. Jawaharlal Nehru50th
19-21 February 1938HaripuraSubhash Chandra Bose51st
10-12 March 1939TripuraSubhash Chandra Bose52nd
19-20 March 1940RamgarhMaulana Abdul Kalam Azad53rd
23-24 November 1946MeerutJ.B. Kriplani54th

Allan Octavian Hume, Dadabhai Naoroji, and Dinshaw Edulji Wacha were the founders of the Indian National Congress. On December 28, 1885, the Indian National Congress was created. The subject is also significant for the UPSC Mains.

UPSC Examinations Concerning Indian National Congress Sessions

Q.1>What is the Indian National Congress’s principal goal?

The Indian National Congress’s primary goals were as follows:

  • To foster the nation-building process in India in order to instill in the people a sense of national identity as Indians and to promote National Unity.
  • To establish an all-India political platform that will enable political workers from across the country to educate and mobilize the masses through a unified all-India political organization.
  • Promoting political consciousness and awakening among educated persons, and eventually throughout the society.
  • To promote political liberal democracy, democratic culture, and anti-colonial ideology among the people in the country.

Q.2>Who was the Indian National Congress’s first general secretary?

Answer: Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee of Calcutta was elected as the inaugural session’s President, with A.O Hume serving as General Secretary.

Q.3> Who presided over the first meeting of the Indian National Congress?

The first President of the INC was Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee.

Q.4> Who presided over the Indian National Congress’s Lahore Session in 1909?

Madan Mohan Malaviya presided over the Lahore Session of 1909.

Q.5> Who was the Viceroy of British India at the time of the first Congress session?

Lord Dufferin was the Viceroy at the time of the first session of the INC. The linked article has a complete list of all governors-general and viceroys.

Q.6>During which session did the Indian National Congress break into two factions: moderates and extremists?

Answer: The rift between moderates and extremists occurred during the 1907 Surat session. (Revision of the topic- Extremists and Moderates)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.